top of page

The Butler of, 'Clover Lane'.

'I am the Butler at the house on Clover Lane. I have seen such things that you should never see. If you have the time then perhaps you will allow me to explain....'.

'I spent years with Anne Frank and her family in the achterhuis, their secret room in Amsterdam. I was there in 1945 when the beginning ended and some danced on the edge of tyranny. I witnessed the camps destroy spirit and watched as the innocent at Auschwitz fell.

I sat in the car, the Buick Electra 225 with Jayne Mansfield in 1967. I saw her smile one more time as she stroked her chihuahua dogs in those brief moments on Highway 90 before a tractor appeared ahead and her driver was unable to stop.

I stood on the deck of, 'Splendour', and watched Natalie Wood on one dark night in 1981. I looked on as she fell overboard into the cold water that waved so sure to the shore of Catalina Island.

In 1927 I sat by a road in Nice, France with a coffee in hand and looked on as Isadora Duncan's scarf became stuck within the wheel and rear axle of Falchetto's car.

In 1932 I stood with an outstretched arm next to Peg Entwistle. I looked on as she climbed a ladder and reached the H of the Hollywoodland Sign and took one last breath before jumping.

I saw Tallulah Bankhead in 1968 at the end with a bourbon in her hand and smiling with no regret.

In 1962 I watched Clara Blandick at home carefully laying her possessions out one last time before picking up the sleeping pills and pausing before sighing with relief.

I was in Surrey in 1913 and went to the races. I stood at Tattenham Corner and watched as Emily Davison prepared herself to walk with determination into the speeding path of Anmer, King George V's horse.

In 1967 I witnessed Vivien Leigh cry a tear of loneliness as she stumbled to the bathroom alone and waited in hope for the return of her friend John Merivale.

I was there in 1963 when Sylvia Plath dampened some towels and ended it all in her gas filled kitchen in Primrose Hill, London.

In 1888 I stood in Millers Court in the East End of London and watched Mary Kelly as she entertained one last time and met with the person forever known as, 'Jack the Ripper'.

'I was there for everything, I saw it all'.

I am the Butler.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page